UHEW Scholarships' Recipients

The Union of Health and Environment Workers believes that everyone has the right to achieve his/her goals through education and hard work.  With this in mind, UHEW offers five scholarships annually, each in the amount of $3,000, to qualified dependents and/or members of the UHEW membership:

  • Two scholarships are awarded on scholastic achievement named the Tony Tilley Scholastic Award and the Mary Stewart Scholastic Award;
  • One scholarship is awarded to a candidate entering into an apprenticeship program;
  • One scholarship is awarded to a member returning to school on a full-time basis to further his or her education; and
  • One Human Rights scholarship.

In order to be awarded the scholarship, those interested in the scholarship were required to submit an application and write a 500-word essay on the following topic for 2017; i.e., What benefits do you see workers have when holding jobs in unionized organizations as opposed to non-unionized jobs? Please explain in your answer the benefits to workers not only in their workplace but in their home life and in their community”.  

UHEW has recently awarded the following:


Tony Tilley Scholastic Award – Nadia Almaouie

Mary Stewart Scholastic Award – Kirsten Simmons

Human Rights Scholarship – Joshua Lister

Apprenticeship Program Scholarship – Jonah Woodworth

Scholarship for Members returning to school – Elka Eisenzimmer


UHEW is very proud of each of the recipients’ goals and wishes them well as they proceed with their education and meeting those goals.

Congratulations to all.

Read More

Indigenous Services

The transfer of FNIHB employees to the new Indigenous Services - what does that mean for our members? 




Following the recent emails sent from Health Canada regarding the transfer of First Nation and Inuit Health Branch to the new Indigenous Services, questions are being asked regarding membership and union representation.


Members at FNIHB will remain with UHEW - that will not change.  Our FNIHB members will be represented by UHEW at the Labour Management Consultation table and INAC members will be represented by their Component, UNE.


Should you have any further concerns and questions, please direct your question to your RVP or the National office.

Read More

FNIHB "Hill Times" Article

The Hill Times newsweekly published an article regarding First Nations and Inuit Health Branch (FNIHB) move from Health Canada to a new department to be created from the split of Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada and how the Government didn’t consult with the unions and even some of their senior executives.


Our very own National President, Todd Panas, was interviewed and quoted in this article.


UHEW represents between 1200 and 1500 members in FNIHB.

Read More